The Prime Minister’s Literary Award is an annual program which accepts books published in the previous calendar year.   

The Awards celebrate the contribution of Australian literature and history to the nation’s cultural and intellectual life.

The Awards play an important role in supporting a national appreciation of Australian literature.

Entries are sought for books of high literary merit  and in the case of Australian history  scholarly accomplishment. The Australian history category recognises outstanding work that contributes significantly to an understanding of Australian history.   

They provide acknowledgement and prizes to the authors and illustrators that have published the best works of Australian literature each year. 

The Awards are administered through an open competitive process.

Awards are presented in six categories; fiction  non-fiction  young adult literature  children’s literature  poetry and Australian history. Up to $100,000 will be awarded in each category:

$80,000 for the winning entry and $5,000 each for a maximum of four shortlisted entries.